Book, Reviews

Truely Horrendous

Alone (The Girl in the Box, #1)Alone by Robert J. Crane

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I promise to be brutally honest with my opinion, but it should not be taken as fact. Any reader should read it for themselves, before they decide if this book has any merit or not. Do not judge this book biased solely on my opinion. If you do, you might miss out on a great read. You never know. It could happen.

1. Strong Main Character/ Female Heroine: Sienna is an interesting main character. I like her independence and how she can defend herself against the big bad wolf. She is feisty, loving, and refreshing, especially compared to the weak female leads that are out there in plenty of books. She defies the notion of a damsel in distress, because even though she is in danger, she is the only one who can protect her. She is self-sufficient, but also a little boy crazy. But hey! She has never before laid her eyes on a real boy in the flesh before. The only reason why her character is not getting five stars is her never ending saucy tongue. She never stopped making fun of people and being rude. I found her to be the ultimate mean girl and I mentally distanced myself from her. Her attitude kept me from really getting close to her and identifying with her as well. 3 out of 5 stars

2. Strong Minor Characters: I found all the minor characters really boring and uninteresting, except old man Winter. Other than that, they all seemed like bad guys to me. I do not think that that was the author’s intention, but that is how I interpreted it. 1 out of 5 stars

3. The Setting: The setting in this book is not all that interesting or intriguing. I did not enjoy the places or the descriptions. It was a let down from the previous books that I have recently read that were very good, when it came to the setting. Every author has redeeming qualities; however, nothing really redeems this book in my eyes, when every page I read, I encountered a problem. 1 out of 5 stars

4. The Plot: Is it just me or does this book contain zero plot whatsoever? I could not for the life of me find a plot in this book. Sienna just does a lot of things, comments about the two boys’ hawtness that she has met, defeats the bad guy, discusses before said hawtness, and the end. There was not much substance, except in the blood and gore. Two things that made this novel worth reading for the fight scenes; otherwise, there was not much action or much plot. I think the no action of it contributed to the no plot aspect. It seems like I only have negative things to say, but I cannot really think of anything good about it, never mind great. 2 out of 5 stars

5. The Artwork: The cover is not ugly, but it is not exactly eye-catching either. The title is what got me to read the story and buy it. 2 out of 5 stars

6. The Writing: It has been a long while since I have read a book as poorly edited as this one. There were so many grammatical mistakes that it literally drove me insane to the point where I would have to take breaks from this book, in order to avoid smashing my kindle fire to smithereens. There were places where instead of a #, there would be a random 3 hanging in there, not centered or anything. Minor words like “the”, “a”, “or”, and “and“ were missing all the time. The misspelling of names that were spelt right, and then wrong were everywhere. The writing style was definitely unique and stuck out to me for all the wrong reasons. I was too distracted by all of the mistakes (some missing periods as well) to enjoy the story, which did not seem like much of a story. Maybe, I was too distracted to tell or no longer cared, whatever is the case, I did not find the writing enjoyable whatsoever and this book was supposed to be a fun read for me. 1 out of 5 stars

7. The Dialogue: …I do not know how to put this delicately, but the dialogue was really stilted and boring to me. The only interesting part that soon got annoying is the saucy language from Sienna…but then she never stopped talking that way and it seriously irked me. With the big bad wolf, the language was very crude and sexual. There should be a warning in this book about mature content, especially since this might appeal to a younger audience. 2 out of 5 stars

Overall, I give this book a 1.7, so I will round it up to a two. Might read the second book, if it was for free to see how the story ends, but otherwise, I am not interested.

View all my reviews

Reply Here

