Book, Reviews

Textbook Fun

Fundamentals of Complementary and Alternative MedicineFundamentals of Complementary and Alternative Medicine by Marc S Micozzi

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I promise to be brutally honest with my opinion, but it should not be taken as fact. Any reader should read it for themselves, before they decide if this book has any merit or not. Do not judge this book biased solely on my opinion. If you do, you might miss out on a great read. You never know. It could happen. My review may contain spoilers, but I really strive to be spoiler-free. I purchased this book for a college course called Culture, Health, and Healing. This book was not suggested nor “gifted” to me by the author. I have no affiliation with the author or his/her publisher.

1. Strong Main Character/ Female Heroine: N/A

2. Strong Main Character / Male Hero: N/A

3. Strong Main Character / Evil Antagonist: N/A

4. Strong Minor Characters: N/A

5. The Plot: N/A

6. The Setting: N/A

7. The Dialogue: N/A

8. Engaging Surprises: N/A

9. Climax: N/A

10. Emotional Response: N/A

11. Ending: N/A

12. The Writing: The style of all of the authors are very different. Each chapter is compiled by different authors, who collectively write the chapter together. I distinctly remember the chapter about Humor and how that particular chapter was the best written one in the entire book. It was a fantastic mix of layman’s language and technical. In this way, the chapter was very enjoyable to read. However, some of the chapters were quite dry and in an entirely textbook manner. Since this is a textbook, I cannot fault it with being dry. In fact, it is one of the best textbooks that I have ever read. The editors really did a great job with little errors left, while other textbooks I have read have been littered with errors of every kind imaginable. 5 out of 5 stars

13. The Artwork: The cover is very professional, but does not encourage excitement about the matter. A nice picture could really snazz the book up some. 2 out of 5 stars

14. Genre: The genre has been represented rightfully as a textbook. 5 out of 5 stars

15. Title: It is a classic textbook title that could not be improved upon. It tells the reader exactly what the textbook will be about. 5 out of 5 stars

Overall, I give this textbook 4.25 out of 5 stars. As textbooks go this one is the most interesting one you will ever find.

View all my reviews

Reply Here

