#Julamorous, Book, Reviews, SALE

It’s Hard Being New

????????????????????????????????????????

The New Girl: A Webster Grove Novella
By: Tracie Puckett

3 out of 5 Stars

Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. I purchased this for free on Amazon.

This book is a novella series, so it is a short book. There are six of them, I believe and they are all under a 2 US dollars. I believe that the quality of this book would be worth that price.

1. Heroine/Hero: Steph or more specifically Abcdef, yeah I know. What a weird name to have. She is at times slightly annoying, but I could really relate to he character. Falling in love with an older man is always hard, never easy. You have all these doubts going through your head and it’s even harder in high school. You think that you are not mature enough for him. Steph does a fabulous job trying to juggle her teenage life and fight her attraction. I think that I have to add Alex into this category, the older man. He is not a minor character, since he is either present or talked about most of the time. He is sweet and charming. He is everything a good guy should be and I liked him a lot. He reminded me of my own boyfriend. I thought of Ezra from Pretty Little Liars when I read this. 5 out of 5 stars

2. Evil Antagonist: I found the math teacher to be an evil-ish role in this story. More importantly though, the situation is the real killer here. The problem is that Steph is still a minor and in high school, something Alex doesn’t seem to care about all that much. I remember feeling a bit out-of-place in high school, because my boyfriend was older. I know that situations like these are hard. 4 out of 5 stars

3. Minor Characters: There really is only three minor characters that I care to mention in my review. Steph’s mom is one of those characters. She is very annoying to me and not sensible to Steph at all. I do not even think her mom cares about anyone besides herself, plus she is slightly psychotic. Steph’s wo friends at school are also the comedic relief of the drama in the story. There is a bit more to the story about the two of them, but then, that would be telling. 3 out of 5 stars

4. Plot: Well, this story is about a girl who falls in love with an older man, but really the story is a lot sweeter than that. It is less drama filled and light. I liked that about the story, but really that is the plot besides a little side story about Steph liking to design clothes. I wish that part was bigger and less of a side. If the novella was longer, the plot would be better developed. 3 out of 5 stars

5. Setting: With a novella, there is not much room to have a lot of details about the scenery and I felt that the story was lacking a little sparkle. If she is a fabulous designer, shouldn’t the reader get an idea of her designs and descriptions about the dresses that she creates? I kept waiting for more details that never came. It was very disappointing for me, since I love the little details. 2 out of 5 stars

6. Dialogue: I felt that the dialogue ran smoothly and people sounded the way they should. I didn’t think that conversations were stiff or awkward. The author made the whole story flow together seamlessly. This novella was filled with conversations, so it is very important to note that the author got it right. 5 out of 5 stars

7. Surprises: There were really only two surprises, which isn’t that surprising since it is a novella. They were meant to be short. The surprises were epically huge that you never see coming and I loved that about this book. I won’t spoil it for the rest of you, but they were really great shocking moments that made my eyes go round. 5 out of 5 stars

8. Climax: There really wasn’t much of a high point, since the book was so short. I think that there might have been one, but the fact that I cannot remember is telling. I don’t think there was a climax and I think even a novella should have that. 1 ou of 5 stars

9. Response: The only parts I really responded to were the surprising ones and anytime the two lovebirds were together. The love was a sweet one, but I really wanted some passion. It would have made the story better. As is, it was just sweet and cute. 2 out of 5 stars

10. Ending: There was a surprise at the end of the book that made up for the lack of a climax or a very poor one at best. It was cliffhanger ending that made me want to read the next book. I thought it was a sweet ending to a sweet book. 4 out of 5 stars

11. Writing: The author writes the story marvelously with really great perspective. I wouldn’t be surprised if the author is writing about her own personal experiences that is how real the story is. I cannot base the author’s writing though on this little story. I would have to read more to judge it more accurately. 4 out of 5 stars

12. Artwork: The cover is soft and sweet. It totally reflects the feel of the book itself. It is a dreamy cover, but I would have liked to have seen something a bit different. Still, it reflects the nature of the novella. 4 out of 5 stars

13. Genre: The genre is definitely YA romance. There is really not much else going on to label this any different. It is chick-lit that is read just for fun. I just wish it was a little more substantial. 4 out of 5 stars

14. Title: The New Girl does not really capture what this book is really about. I wish the author would have chosen a different title to be sure. This book is so much more than being the new girl in town. 2 out of 5 stars

Overall, I give this novella 3.4 stars out of 5. I will be reading the next installment, as soon as I have some Amazon credit to spend. I recommend reading this fluffy novella. Drop me a comment or a request anytime.

Reply Here

