#Julamorous, Book, Reviews

Double-Crossed

Crossed (Matched, #2)Crossed by Ally Condie

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

FTC Disclaimer: All opinions are my own and I borrowed this book from the library. I strive to be spoiler free.

1. Heroine/Hero: Since this book has a double perspective on both Cassia and Ky, I believe I will have to discuss both of those characters here. Let’s be honest, I liked Cassia and the whole first book more than this one. Cassia is just more annoying, but I was still invested in her. She was negative at times, but she was also positive. I felt like she was never really moving forward in deciding who to love. In the first book, she chose Ky and I was rooting for them both. In this book, it’s like twilight with who should I choose? But I already thought that she had made her choice. I don’t like indecisive characters and by the end o this book, she still wasn’t sure. I liked Ky less in this book. I didn’t want to be in his head and I skimmed all of his sections. I thought his story was boring and I just wanted to know about Cassia’s. Hopefully, the third book is just in Cassia’s perspective, but I wouldn’t mind Xander’s either. After this book, I kinda hope she chooses Xander. 2 out of 5 stars

2. Evil Antagonist: Well, the Society is still the evil of the world, but I think possibly, the rebellion is, too. In this book, the Society really isn’t a major threat. It is more the dangers of living without it, but of course, they don’t starve. They just happen to find food that is already cooked for them. 3 out of 5 stars

3. Minor Characters: I do like the new characters that were brought into the story and I hope that we s readers will get to learn more about them in the final book. I will hate it, if I read the last book and hear nothing about them. Then, it’s like why bother in the first place. In my opinion, the minor characters were a lot more interesting than the main characters and I wish that Xander had a bigger part in this book, but he did make a big impact with his gift. 4 out of 5 stars

4. Plot: I didn’t really think much of the plot. It is how Cassia escapes from the Society and finds Ky and they flee to the rebellion, but really, there is a whole lot of nothing going on. This is probably the reason why I didn’t enjoy this book as much. here wasn’t a whole lot of action going on. I like pretty fast paced books and this one was kind of slow at times. It sucked the enjoyment out of the book. 2 out of 5 stars

5. Setting: There is a lot of describing going on and I love it! I love when authors take the time to truly create the imaginative place that is in their minds. It makes the story come alive for the readers. I love the cave drawings and the other descriptions that are included, but those drawings were my favorite part by far. 4 out of 5 stars

6. Dialogue: The characters talking to ech other is by far the best thing that was written in this book. To me, dialogue is the best part about any book and if you do this wrong, the book largely becomes a one star for me. This was a redeeming quality in the book for me. 4 out of 5 stars

7. Surprises: There weren’t any surprises fo me. I either anticipated them or the surprise was written where it wasn’t much of one. The only surprising part was about the tablets and Xander. There weren’t big surprises though. Just like, “Oh, I didn’t know that.” They were not big, extreme moments in the book for me by any means. 1 out of 5 stars

8. Climax: There really wasn’t much of one, at least I didn’t notice it. I mean, there was a big argument and all, but that was basically it. I’m not sure if an argument that gets easily resolved can be much of a climax. 1 out of 5 stars

9. Response: I really did not have much of an emotional response to the book rather than being mildly bored with it and frustrated that nothing good was happening most of the time. I wish there would have been more of a connection for me, but there wasn’t. 1 out of 5 stars

10. Ending: The ending of this book was a cliff hanger that doesn’t really make me want to read the next book all that much, but I will read it. I want to know if all of this time invested into the series turns out to be a waste of time or not. The first book was a hit and this one was a miss for me. Hopefully, the last book will make it all worth it. 2 out of 5 stars

11. Writing: I find that the writing style has really slowed down and for some reason, Ky’s part is really boring. I do not know what happened with this writer. Maybe she got tired? I don’t know, but this one wasn’t that engaging as the rest of her books are. Definitely a dud. 2 out of 5 stars

12. Artwork: The cover is pretty like the other one, but it’s not the reason why I read this book. It matches the theme and that’s all that matters. 4 out of 5 stars

13. Genre: This is a dystopian romance and I know the author got the genre naming right. Some authors exaggerate. 5 out of 5 stars

14. Title: The title is sort and sweet and really has meaning in this book. 5 out of 5 stars

Overall, I give this book 2.8 out of 5 stars. I will be reading the next book, just to finish th series.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Double-Crossed”

  1. I do like how you organize your reviews. It is helpful to know the plot wasn’t that great. I hope the next book doesn’t disappoint.

    1. Me too! I want the final book to be worth it. A lot of books in series have ones that disappoint. Not everyone agrees with my opinion, but I read a lot of books. Over 40 this year so far. I only write reviews for the ones that really land a mark…even if it’s negative.

  2. by the way, you may already know about this but the website Story Cartel has new authors offering free books in exchange for honest reviews. I wrote about this on this freebie blog I created I wanted to let you know in case it interests you. I’m going to try it out and got one book to read. its at http://storycartel.com/

Reply Here

