#Julamorous, Book, Lifestyle, Reviews

The It Girl

The It Girl (It Girl, #1)The It Girl by Cecily von Ziegesar

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

So, I finished this book back in April and I’m just getting over the first trimester of pregnancy. I have more energy to do a nice review now. I am also close to finishing Dreamland by Sarah Dessen. You can expect a review for that in the near future as well. I really enjoyed reading this book and I definitely want to read the rest of the series. I find this one more intriguing than Gossip Girl, but I may try reading that one again now that I’m older.

DISCLAIMER:

I promise to be brutally honest with my opinion, but it should not be taken as fact. Any reader should read it for themselves, before they decide if this book has any merit or not. Do not judge this book biased solely on my opinion. If you do, you might miss out on a great read. You never know. It could happen. My review may contain spoilers, but I really strive to be spoiler-free. I bought this book on paperback swap. This book was not suggested to me by the author. I have no affiliation with the author or his/her publisher.

Main Character(s):

I always loved Jenny in the TV show of Gossip Girl and in the first and only Gossip Girl book that I did read. I loved reading a book, where she was the main star. I enjoyed learning about the other characters as well, but I really looked forward to Jenny’s pages the most. I would love a TV series of these books. I wish they would have done this spinoff, but who knows? Maybe they will, but I think that too much time has passed to be honest. There has been an awful lot of young adult literature being turned into movies lately. Jenny is a feisty, unique character and I adore her point of view.
5 out of 5 stars

Evil Antagonist(s):

I don’t remember any of the girls being particularly mean to Jenny or anything. The evil villain in this book is more like gossipy high school rumors more than anything. There isn’t a “bad” person in this book really just “bad” decisions and behavior. It is a fluffy book full of drama and I enjoyed it. I have a funny feeling that Tinsley will become the evil character in the next book.
3 out of 5 stars

Minor Character(s):

To tell you the truth, I really enjoyed all the girls’ stories and I thought that the characters were very much fleshed out. I enjoyed Brett’s forbidden romance with ahem older boys and Callie’s bumpy romances that always end in pain for her. It’s sad that much high school romances end in pain and humiliation. I wish there could have been another girl though to tell a different story. I feel like all teen girl books lately are all about love and boys and it doesn’t have to be.
4 out of 5 stars

The Plot:

There isn’t a huge plot in this one really. Jenny just has to not get expelled, which is the whole plot of the book basically. Oh, and she wants everyone around her to love her. At least, it isn’t no plot, which is way worse or a plot that doesn’t make sense. I like these books, because they are just beachy reads not to be taken seriously. I have other books to read if I’m in the mood for something deeper or paranormal or troubled. I like these books for when I want entertainment and not to think so much. Dreamland is very deep and a bit depressing, so reading it with a book like this takes the edge off.
2 out of 5 stars

The Setting:

Everything is described in great detail, which as you all know, I love to death. I love the little details and it really paints the world that your characters live in for the reader. Keep the details entertaining though and don’t just go on and on about the scenery. Create some wonder and sense of excitement. This book makes me feel like I am a boarding school again, except a richer, better looking one at that.
5 out of 5 stars

The Dialogue:

I would say that the characters don’t always talk naturally and conversations can be a bit awkward between characters and I don’t think those conversations are supposed to be awkward either. They don’t flow as smooth as other books I have read before, but they still make sense and are written in a way that real teenagers would speak in. I just think it’s a bit stiff at times and they talk a little adult when that happens.
3 out of 5 stars

Engaging Surprises:

There were plenty of surprises for the characters, but none for the reader. The reader already knew what the surprises were or at least, when the surprises were going to happen. I would have liked some sudden omg moments, but they were nowhere to be found. That doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy the book. I just wish that the author would have kept some of it a mystery.
1 out of 5 stars

Climax:

Umm, there was one? I didn’t really recognize one besides the impending meeting on whether Jenny or Easy would get kicked out of the school. So, I guess that there was one. It didn’t feel like the whole novel was focused on that though. It was so much more than that. I wish there would have been a better climax moment. Maybe Tinsley could have made an appearance earlier than book two? That could have been really fun.
3 out of 5 stars

Emotional Response:

This isn’t the type of novel that you read for a touching moment or anything. It is just a fluffy girly read that I would have enjoyed so much more in high school, when I really needed escape books from all the homework. Not to say, that I did not enjoy the book. I just think that it is more geared towards the high school audience.
1 out of 5 stars

Ending:

It was a bit surprising, I guess, but I sort of knew that it was going to happen to make things more interesting and drama filled. I liked the decision that was made and the novel ended on a great note. It didn’t end in the middle of something, which I have always hated. It ended at the end with a little twist to it to get you excited for the second book. I believe that books even in series, should wrap up on their own and have some link to tie them to the next book in the series. They shouldn’t end in the middle of something. That just pisses me off.
4 out of 5 stars

The Writing:

I really do enjoy the author’s writing style. I think that there is something unique about it. How she can go from being one character to the next so flawlessly. Each character is uniquely different from the author. They are not clichéd and they never blur together. The author keeps each character distinct throughout the novel. I cannot help but think that the characters were better in Gossip Girl though. I don’t know. There is something just more distinct and sparkly about those characters compared to the ones in this novel.
4 out of 5 stars

The Artwork:

I love the cover to this book. I didn’t picture Jenny exactly like this, but it is pretty darn close. She looks glamorous, but not quite fitting. She doesn’t look “rich” or glamorous enough for the school that she attends. Her sweater brings the look down and it’s to show that Jenny isn’t rich like them. She’s just a pretender and I love her.
4 out of 5 stars

Genre:

Fluffy teen drama. Enough said. I might be growing tired of this genre. I think I’m going to be reading different types of books next. Maybe read something deeper.
4 out of 5 stars

Title:

The title of this book is very suiting of the plot. Jenny is trying to be the envy of everyone. She wants to be the one everyone goes to. She wants to be Blair and Serena from Gossip Girl. She wants to be the star of her own drama. I think she definitely found it in her own spinoff series. Maybe there will be a rivalry between her and Tinsley like Blair and Serena.
5 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed reading this novel and cannot wait to read the second book. I think I may have borrowed it from Danielle. This book gets 3.4 out of 5 stars, so I am going with 3 stars on this one. Anyways, I might take a break from this series to read some other things before coming back to it. I’m almost done with all of the books I am reading, so I might throw the second one in there with the next batch of books. What have you all been enjoying?

With Love

Selena
View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “The It Girl”

  1. I read this book in 8th grade (a little mature for an 8th grader, but it was a secret santa gift!) and loved it, and proceeded to lend it to all my friends, so my copy now looks very sad. But I have to agree that this is probably better suited to high schoolers. To me, this always seems like the middle ground between the clique and gossip girl, where the clique was okay for older girls and gossip girl was a little more mature than the It girl. But they’re such guilty pleasure books! They’re pretty fluffy.

Reply Here

