Book, My Life, Reviews

May Reads

I have actually managed to read FOUR books this month. Well, so two of them I finished this month, but still that counts as four for May. I want to read 25 books this year. I think I might be on schedule now according to my goodreads app. I feel very accomplished, so here it goes.

The Longest RideThe Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book. I found parts of it dry and wanted to skip through the boring bits. I persevered though and I enjoyed the book truly. I enjoyed the modern story more than Ira’s, but that’s just because of all the historical facts that weighted his story down. It didn’t flow as smoothly as the modern tale. Most of Sparks books I end up disliking or only mildly enjoying. This one I enjoyed more than most. I highly recommend reading this one. It is one of his better ones. I will give this one back to you D, when I see you again.

Shadowland (The Mediator, #1)Shadowland by Meg Cabot

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I loved this book! It’s been awhile since I’ve read such a great book. I love the troubled romance and the mystery surrounding everything. I feel like this will be a great series that will keep me guessing. This book definitely did. It is unlike any Meg Cabot book that I have read before. It is different from the rest of her fluffy reads. This has a lot of sustenance to it, while still being a joy to read. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series.

Love Story (Love Story, #1)Love Story by Erich Segal

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This was a sweet story and a rude one too. I don’t remember the movie being like this. I’ll have to watch it over again. I enjoyed the book, but I felt that it was very juvenile, even as the characters grew up. A lot of swears in this one as well. Not a book that is a priority read. It was something okay to pass the time with. I wouldn’t recommend it. I really loved the movie though. Again, I’m not sure the movie really relates to the book. There is a disconnect with my mind about it. It’s been awhile since I watched the original and the remake.

What to Expect the First Year (What to Expect)What to Expect the First Year by Heidi Murkoff

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was very informative and I can see going back to it for advise. I’m glad I own this copy, because it is great to refer back to for information. This is just the start to my childcare book collection. With books like these, I believe that it’s better to own than borrow, so you can refer back to them when you need to. This has made me a better informed parent and I feel comforted knowing that this book is only a shelf away if I need it again.
View all my reviews

Those are the books that I managed to finish while pumping and amongst other things. I’m looking forward to another heavy book month in June. I’m hoping I can at least read two if not more!

With Love,

Selena

 

Reply Here

