#Julamorous, Beauty, First Impressions

July Birchbox *Day 20*

I know that I’m late to the party with my July Bircbox unboxing, but better late than never right? I have to say that I was not impressed with what I received this month. I hope August will be a better month or sadly, I will be unsubscribing. I was very uninspired, even though this month’s box was very pretty. Let’s get into it.

At least, I have heard of all of the brands in my box before. Four out of five of my products, but one is a perfume and those are always a pretty penny to begin with.

TOCCA Wau de Parfum in Bianca, 0.05 fl oz for $1.70 USD

Let’s just start off with the perfume then,. I love the Tocca hand creams, so I thought that I would love this citrusy perfume as well. I don’t hate it, but I don’t want to purchase it either. It is a nice light floral perfume, but I wouldn’t call it citrusy. It needs more citrus, but I will wear it. It’s a pretty perfume, but nothing special. I feel like I’ve already smelt it/owned/own a perfume similar to this one. The sample is in a glass vial. I wish it had a sprayer on it, but it is more generous than most perfume samples that I get usually.

shampoo

Davines MINU Shampoo, 2.5 fl oz for $7.80 USD

I enjoy trying out shampoos, but it isn’t exciting or anything. This one is light blue in color and is for color treated hair, which is what my hair is right now. Color treated, not light blue. It is supposed to have a citrus scent, but it smells more minty/menthol to me. I love it when my scalp tingles from menthol shampoos, so if this one does that, at least I’ll be happy with this sample. It is a generous shampoo sample as well.

Conditioner

Davines MINU Conditioner, 0.40 fl oz for $3 USD BONUS

This was my bonus extra this month. The matching foil packet of conditioner.The conditioner is white and does smell fruity with a bit of citrus. I like the scent of the conditioner more than the shampoo. Not much else to say about this one without trying it.

Cargo Blush & Bronzer Duo in Catalina & Medium, 3.2 g for $3 USD

I love the blush shade! It’s such a pretty Barbie doll pink, but the bronzer has a ton of shimmer and I prefer my bronzers to be matte. I love shimmer highlighters and blushes, but I don’t want my whole face to be shimmering. I kinda wish that they would have made the blush shimmery and the bronzer matte. That being said, I will be finding this product a new home. I love the blush, but I’m not going to give someone else half a compact. That would be rude. I also wish that I just got the blush and it was full pan. I hate these half pan things. It makes it difficult to even use the product that you do like.

Scrub

dr. brandt PoreDermabrasion, 0.25 fl oz for $7.15 USD

I love the Pores No More product from this brand, so I’m sure that I’ll love this scrub as well. The small tube makes it easy to take with you while traveling or fit into a small spot in your shower. I love it. The product itself is probably very good. I think I’ve had the microdermabrasion scrub before and that was really nice and finely milled. I’m hoping that I’ll love this one as well. I love scrubs, so I’m glad I got one from a high end brand that I enjoy.

mascara

Marcelle Xtension Plus Curl Mascara, 0.15 fl oz for $7 USD

So, this is a little more than half of the full sized tube, so that makes me happy. I am into curling my lashes, since I already have length and volume with my lashes naturally. I’m excited to see if this makes them curl more. Hopefully, this won’t flake on me, which is my usual problem with most mascaras. I will be trying this as soon as I finish up my Urban Decay mascara. I don’t like to have more than one tube open at a time. Maybe, I’ll make an exception, since UB is my weekend/day off mascara. It is way too dramatic for work.

I am only excited for two items out of five, which isn’t very good. I have had an amazing two months of samples, so I’m hoping that August will redeem this box. I am always happy with the value of my boxes, which this month is over 28 USD.

With Love <3
Selena
7 thoughts on “July Birchbox *Day 20*”

  1. I really haven’t been impressed with Birchbox lately myself. I didn’t even both with the sample choice again this month because I really didn’t want any of the items. I may cancel, especially with the new points rules.

Reply Here

