Book, Reviews

August Reads

I managed to finish three books this month and almost finished a fourth! I think it might be possible to finish four books in September, but I am not making that my goal. I’m just happy to manage two a month with working full time and being a mom. Now, I’ll be adding taking a college online class to that. It’s a good thing that the class is a self-study with no homework. I just have a exam to pass, which I chose December 9th at 2:30 pm, but I have to be there at 2 for check in. You get all of these supplies with your books like flash cards and practice test. I’ll make a blog post next week about it and talk more in-depth then. Here are the three books that I managed to read!

Delirium (Delirium, #1)Delirium by Lauren Oliver

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have to say that Lauren Oliver really redeemed herself in my eyes. I really disliked Before I Fall and I didn’t have high hopes for this trilogy. I have to say that I loved this novel so much, because it wasn’t what I expected. It isn’t a cliche or similar to anything that I have read before. It is a very unique story that had me guessing at every page. I didn’t want to ut this book down and I finished it in a week. I ate this book up and cannot wait to read the next book in the series. I was really mad at the ending of this book, though. It is bittersweet and I wish it would have ended the way I wanted it to. But then, I would complain about a predictable ending. I had zero expectations going into this series and now, I don’t want to leave.

Shearwater Part OneShearwater Part One by Derek Murphy

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t realize that when I started this book, I was only getting half of the story. The other half is supposedly coming out in November. I will tell you already that I am looking forward to reading the rest of the story. I was just getting into the story, when it stopped. The beginning is very long and feels it. I do feel like this resembles Twilight, but I have hope for this book. I really enjoyed the mythology and how it was weaved into the story. It wasn’t heavy handed, which was nice. It is a pleasant story, but I would not recommend reading this until the full story is out. It feels half finished.

The Long Road Home (A Place Called Home, #3)The Long Road Home by Lori Wick

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I enjoy books by Lori Wick and this one was no exception. It is a little darker than some of her other books, but the women are always in danger and need rescuing by men. That is one thing I don’t enjoy. I want a strong female that doesn’t need to be saved by a man. Otherwise than that, I liked the book well enough. It is a Christian novel, so prepare yourself for some Bible verses. This book shoves God down your throat less than Wick’s other novels. I will be finishing the series and they are very clean reads that anyone at any age could enjoy and understand. I’m starting to read more “adult” books and less YA.
View all my reviews

With Love ❤

Selena

23 thoughts on “August Reads”

    1. It’s hard with a little one and working. I try to spend half of my hour lunch break reading, which is really how I manage to read all of these books. 17 so far this year. When I’m home, I don’t have time to read except for a little bit on the weekend. Thank you for reading and commenting. I’m checking out your blog right now. Stalkerish I know. 🙂

  1. I am very slowly starting to read more adult fiction as well. Also, if you’re looking for a book with a strong female lead you may want to look outside of Christian fiction? I have plenty in my collection if you’re looking for something else. Lol.

      1. I mean probably not, but most older people don’t think feminism and Christianity intermingle. Which is really dumb because they should. I think more general fiction would have stronger females, but the content is probably a little racier. I’ve yet to find a happy medium.

      2. I nearly choked on my tea. Lol. I have plenty of that!! You know your always free to borrow my books. Lol. I’m reading valley of the dolls right now, which is older but apparently trash according to my dad (I’m guessing my grandma or aunts read it or he watched the movie, I don’t know.) I’ll let you know how it is but you can borrow it after. But I have others. You would probably like the Bridget jones books too? Those aren’t explicit or anything, but they’re not for children. They’re also really funny.

      3. I like both the book and the movie, but they’re not exactly the same. But probably similar enough. The book reminded me a little of shopaholic, though she’s not obsessed with shopping.

      4. I did. I think I got through 6 or 7 books in August? It’s just that I started with this pile of about 9 books that were each around 400 pages and kept adding to it. I don’t know how I thought I could get through over 3000 pages!

Reply Here

